Chocolate caramel honeycomb cupcakes!!

Hey everyone!

So today I decided to share with you a recipe from my favourite baking book of all time, Tanya Bakes! As part of my new years resolutions, I decided to try and make everything out of Tanya Bakes  by the end of 2017. I’ve made about 6 things so far, I’ve got a long way to go! I would highly recommend Tanya Bakes as a gift or for a keen or new baker. I got mine from Waterstones, but it’s available on Amazon, and I’m sure plenty of other bookshops.

Today I decided to make the ‘Chocolate honeycomb caramel cupcakes’ which I’ve just taken out the oven and they smell sooo good!!

For this recipe you will need:

  • 50g of softened butter
  • 180g of Castar sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1tsp of vanilla extract
  • 100g of plain flour
  • 60g cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 160ml of milk
  • 100g of milk chocolate chips

For the icing:

  • 500g of icing sugar
  • 250g of softened butter
  • 200g of caramel

To decorate:

  • 2 Crunchie bars

-Firstly, preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius/350 degrees Fahrenheit/ GM4.

-Then, line a cupcake tray with cupcake cases.

-Next, cream together your sugar and butter in a bowl and mix until light and fluffy. Then stir in the egg and vanilla, (I beat my egg in a mug with a fork beforehand) then fold in the flour, cocoa powder and baking powder.

-Slowly add the milk and mix to form a smooth batter and then stir in the chocolate chips.

-Spoon the mixture into the cupcake cases evenly and bake in the oven for 20 minutes. Allow them to cool by transferring them onto a wire cooling rack. img_5446

For the icing:

-Mix together all the ingredients for the icing until smooth, then spoon or pipe onto the cup cakes. (With this part be really careful with the icing sugar because it goes everywhere!) Chop up the Crunchie bars into rough pieces and sprinkle on top of each cupcake. (I didn’t have a piping bag and my icing was a little too runny so make sure to add extra icing sugar if you think your icing sugar is too runny in consistency).img_5447

  • Serve and enjoy!

I hope you liked this recipe, comment below if you made this recipe!

Caitlin ❤

2 thoughts on “Chocolate caramel honeycomb cupcakes!!

Leave a Reply

